Welcome to another wonderful episode of “On Stage Now”.

Our special guest The Messenger, host of A VGM Journey, introduces us to our featured musician this month: Qumu. Qumu has been creating covers and remixes of video game music for ten years, as well as original music. Many of the covers and remixes include games from the Pokemon series, The Legend of Zelda series, Sonic, Banjo-Kazooie, and Crash Bandicoot. Qumu’s original music are a delight to listen, even if they sound like they should be from a video game.

Prepare to listen to the covers and remixes of Qumu, thanks to The Messenger carefully choosing and curating a list of tracks that is sure to leave you feeling uplifted.


Qumu (Personal Website, YT, Twitter/X, Spotify, Apple Music, Amazon Music, Bandcamp, Patreon, Merch)

A VGM Journey (Spotify, Apple Podcasts, Google Podcasts, Audible, Podcast Index)



Track Listing

“Super Mario 3D World – World Bowser [Remix]” – [Super Mario 3D World] – originally composed by Mahito Yokota, Koji Kondo, Toru Minegishi, Yasuaki Iwata

“Super Mario Galaxy – Buoy Base Galaxy [Remix]” – [Super Mario Galaxy] – originally composed by Mahito Yokota, Koji Kondo

“Sonic Adventure 2 – Escape from the City [Remix]” – [Sonic Adventure 2] – originally composed by Jun Senoue

“Pikmin – Today’s Results [Lofi/Chill Remix]” – [Pikman] – originally composed by Hajime Wakai

“Pokemon Gold / Silver / Crystal – Goldenrod City [Remix] – [Pokemon Gold/Silver/Crystal] – originally composed by Junichi Masuda

“Mario Party 1 & 2 – Bowser’s Theme – Remix” – [Mario Party 1 & 2] – originally composed by Koji Kondo

“Super Mario Sunshine – Defino Plaza [Remix]” – [Super Mario Sunshine] – originally composed by Koji Kondo, Shinobu Tanaka

“The Legend of Zelda: Link’s Awakening – Overwold [Remix]” (in collaboration with Vector U and NoteBlock) – [The Legend of Zelda: Link’s Awakening] – originally composed by Kazumi Totaka, Minako Hamano, Kozue Ishikawa

“A Hat in Time – Welcome to Mafia Town [Official Remix] – [A Hat in Time] – Pascal Michael Stiefel

“Doom – At Doom’s Gate [ E1M1] [Remix] – [Doom] – originally composed by Bobby Prince

“Mario Party – Opening [Remix] ” – [Mario Party] – originally composed by Koji Kondo

“Banjo-Kazooie – Treasure Trove Cove [Remix/Cover]” – [Banjo-Kazooie] – originally composed by Grant Kirkhope

“Metroid – Kraid’s Lair (Brinstar Depths) [Remix]” – [Metroid] – originally composed by Hirokazu Tanaka

“Animal Crossing: New Horizons – Welcome Horizons (ACNH Main Theme)” – [Animal Crossing: New Horizons] – originally composed by Kazumi Totaka, Yasuaki Iwata, Yumi Takahashi, Shinobu Nagata, Sayako Doi, Masato Ohashi

“Ice Cream Island [Remix]” – [Kirby’s Adventure] – originally composed by Hirokazu Ando

Outro: “Among Familiar Faces” – composed by Qumu


YouTube playlist